Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

The Official Home of the Simpson College Storm

Bevy of standout performances in defeat

Bevy of standout performances in defeat

INDIANOLA, Iowa – The Simpson men's and women's swimming and diving teams were led by a combined five wins in a competitive dual against Coe despite coming off the Iowa Lakes dual from the night before.

Coe won the women's competition 125-87 and the men's 115-91.

Starting off the night in dominating fashion in the women's 200-yard medley relay was the quartet of Erica Carlson, Haley Blum, Christina Amburgy, and Malia Meyer.  They cruised to a 31-second victory and finished in a time of 2:04.03. Amburgy went on to win the women's 100-yard butterfly in 1:05.47 and a narrow 0.24 second runner-up finish in the women's 50-yard freestyle.  

On the men's side, JJ Hansen anchored the Storm divers with a victory in the 1-meter competition tallying a score of 147.50. The trio of Mitchell Madson (52.96), Scott Wailes (56.21), and Steven Best (57.91) swept the top-three spots in the men's 100-yard freestyle. The foursome of Nathan Schneider, James Tillison, Zack Lindeberg, and Wailes eased to the finish line in the men's 400-yard freestyle relay earning over a 12-second margin of victory.

Other Men's Highlights

  • Kyle McKim bested two of his Indianola-YMCA record with a 2:11.65 in the 200-yard individual medley and a 1:02.99 result in the men's 100-yard breaststroke. He missed first place by a mere 0.15 and 0.31 secondsin both races, respectively.

Other Women's highlights

  • Marissa Stepleton just missed out (0.63 seconds) on victory lane in the 100-yard freestyle (1:02.95).