Kiehne goes 4-0, Storm top Nebraska Wesleyan at IIAC Duals

Jason Kiehne went 4-0 to lead the Storm to a 1-3 mark at the IIAC Duals on Saturday, Jan. 21.
Jason Kiehne went 4-0 to lead the Storm to a 1-3 mark at the IIAC Duals on Saturday, Jan. 21.

DECORAH, Iowa — Jason Kiehne ran the table and the Simpson wrestling team beat Nebraska Wesleyan 31-24, going 1-3 Saturday at the IIAC Duals.

The Storm (4-7, 1-4) snapped a streak of nine straight seasons without a win at the conference duals with the win over Nebraska Wesleyan. Simpson lost to No. 13 Coe 35-13, Luther 33-11 and Loras 39-11.

Kiehne went a perfect 4-0 at 141 pounds on the day, getting two pins and two technical falls to lead the Storm. His was one of three pins for Simpson against Nebraska Wesleyan, helping the Storm to their first win at the IIAC Duals since 2007. 

Now 15-8 on the season, Kiehne is tied for second on the team in wins and has won 8 of his last 10 matches.

Jason Clark also went undefeated, going 3-0 at 157 pounds. Jake Mize went 2-1 at 165 and Colby Vlieger went 2-2 at 285. Vlieger is now 19-9 on the season and saw his winning streak improve to eight before losing decisions to Luther and Loras. 

#13 Coe 35, Simpson 13
125—Brady Wilsie (COE) pins Jacob Irwin, 1:09
133—Fletcher Green (COE) wins by forfeit
141—Jason Kiehne (SIM) pins Trey Schuler, 1:42
149—Romello Hidalgo-Monjares (COE) pins Anthony Derrick, 1:25
157—Jason Clark (SIM) dec. Nate Olsen, 5-4
165—Ryan Harrington (COE) dec. Jake Mize, 5-2
174—Jake Voss (COE) pins RJ Brown, 2:35
184—Taylor Mehmen (COE) dec. Noah Robinson, 15-10
197—Andrew Holladay (COE) tech. fall Sam Mathis, 15-0 (3:10)
285—Colby Vlieger (SIM) major dec. Garrett Kelson, 12-4

Simpson 31, Nebraska Wesleyan 24
125—Jacob Irwin (SIM) pins Ryan Smales, 5:36
133—Jorge Hernandez (NWU) wins by forfeit
141—Jason Kiehne (SIM) pins Brayden Dowding, 0:59
149—Mitchell Hunt (NWU) pins Anthony Derrick, 2:41
157—Jason Clark (SIM) wins by forfeit
165—Nathan Hunt (NWU) pins Austin Stotts, 3:10
174—Bailey Chyma (SIM) pins Matthew Fricke, 3:43
184—Noah Robinson (SIM) major dec. Alex Kerr, 15-6
197—Ben Lodema (NWU) pins Damon Piatt, 1:10
285—Colby Vlieger (SIM) dec. Justin Hennessy, 3-1

Luther 33, Simpson 11
125—Connor Murphy (LUT) tech. fall Jacob Irwin, 19-3 (3:00)
133—Cody Hanson (LUT) wins by forfeit
141—Jason Kiehne (SIM) tech. fall Gilbert Valadez, 19-1 (3:42)
149—Travis Ostby (LUT) pins Anthony Derrick, 2:01
157—Jason Clark (SIM) dec. Michael Suarez, 4-3
165—Jake Mize (SIM) dec. Brett Clark, 8-1
174—Javier Reyes (LUT) sudden victory Bailey Chyma, 12-8
184—Justin Kreiter (LUT) pins Noah Robinson, 1:03
197—Matthew Chlebek (LUT) major dec. Sam Mathis, 10-2
285—Keenan Feldpausch (LUT) dec. Colby Vlieger, 9-3

Loras 39, Simpson 11
125—Matt Randone (LOR) pins Jacob Irwin, 1:47
133—Michael Triplett (LOR) wins by forfeit
141—Jason Kiehne (SIM) tech. fall Joseph Riorda, 16-0 (5:00)
149—Evan Weaver (LOR) tech. fall Anthony Derrick, 17-0 (3:55)
157—Jimmy Davis (LOR) tech. fall Dalton Kenig, 17-0 (6:07)
165—Jake Mize (SIM) pins Keegan Gilligan, 4:19
174—Eddie Smith (LOR) tech. fall RJ Brown, 20-2 (5:00)
184—Awais Arain (LOR) dec. Noah Robinson, 10-3
197—Javier Soto (LOR) pins Sam Mathis, 1:18
285—Brody Tupy (LOR) dec. Colby Vlieger, 7-3

Storm drop dual to Augustana
December 1, 2016 Storm drop dual to Augustana
Storm compete at Luther Open
November 12, 2016 Storm compete at Luther Open