Morrow named to All-IIAC First Team

Junior Noreen Morrow
Junior Noreen Morrow

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa — Following a career year, Simpson women's basketball player Noreen Morrow earned a spot on the All-Iowa Conference First Team for the 2016-17 season, as announced by the league office late last week.

A 6-foot-2 junior from Lake Park, Iowa, Morrow led the Storm in scoring and rebounding, averaging 16.9 points and 8.7 rebounds per game. The inside force led the Iowa Conference in rebounding, finished third in scoring and was second in field goal percentage (54.1).

Morrow posted nine double-doubles on the year and was the only player in the IIAC to shoot better than 50 percent from the field while averaging more than 15 points per game. 

A second team all-conference pick a year ago, Morrow poured in a career-best 422 points in 2016-17. She will enter her senior season with 745 career points and is looking to become the 16th player in Simpson history to reach 1,000 career points.

2016-17 All-Iowa Confernece Women's Basketball Team
Most Valuable Player — Katie Sommer, Wartburg
Defensive Player of the Year — Lori Obendorf, Loras
Coach of the Year — Bob Amsberry, Wartburg 

First Team
Claire Marburger — Central, So., F
Aleena Hobbs — Coe, Jr., F
Emily Brinker — Dubuque, Sr., G
Lori Obendorf — Loras, Sr., P
Katie Waller — Luther, Jr., F
Noreen Morrow — Simpson, Jr., P
Miranda Murphy — Wartburg, Jr., F

Second Team
Jasmine Demers — Buena Vista, Jr., G
Jenna Lehman — Coe, Jr., G
Cyerra Hutchins — Loras, Jr., G
Anna Madrigal — Luther, Sr., F
Caitlin Navratil — Nebraska Wesleyan, Fr., G
Morgan Neuendorf — Wartburg, Jr., G
Kristie Sommer — Wartburg, Jr., F

Honorable Mention
Emily Dine — Central, Jr., G
Mickey Hansche — Coe, Sr., G
Terese McMahon — Loras, Sr., F
Laura Hamilton — Luther, Fr., F
Aryn Jones — Wartburg, Jr., C 

Dubuque comeback stuns Storm
February 8, 2017 Dubuque comeback stuns Storm