Men’s swimming falls to Nebraska Wesleyan in season-opener

Men’s swimming falls to Nebraska Wesleyan in season-opener

INDIANOLA, Iowa — Phoenix Russell won the one-meter diving competition and the Simpson men's swimming team added three second-place efforts in Saturday's season-opener against Nebraska Wesleyan. 

Nebraska Wesleyan won the meet 189-54 in its first competition as a member of the Iowa Conference.

Russell scored 170.32 points in one-meter diving, the only competitor in the event. 
James McKee, Dylan Gray and Tyler Marine added second-place finishes for the Storm. McKee swam 23.09 in the 50 freestyle, Gray swam 1:03.63 in the 100 breaststroke and Marine swam 57.54 in the 100 backstroke. Gray's effort in the breaststroke was his fastest since the 2014-15 season. 

Simpson travels to Estherville, Iowa next Saturday to take on Iowa Lakes CC in dual action.

100 backstroke—2. Tyler Marine, 57.54
100 breaststroke—2. Dylan Gray, 1:03.63
50 freestyle—2. James McKee, 23.09
1-mtr diving—1. Phoenix Russell, 170.32