Storm send pool out in style

Storm send pool out in style

INDIANOLA, Iowa – Eric Crawford had just enough warning to make sure his phone was out of his pocket before taking a dip in the pool.

The interim head coach of the Simpson swimming teams was nudged into the pool by his swimmers in celebration of Friday night's sweep of Iowa Lakes Community College, a fitting way to commemorate the the final swim meet in Cowles Center.

Beginning next season, the swim teams will compete in Indianola's new YMCA, which is being constructed on the North side of town.

The Storm men won 84-73 while the women won 73-57.

Men's Recap

James Tillison and Kyle McKim won two events each to lead the men's team, which improved to 2-2 on the year.

Tillison won the 200 (2:11.42) and 400 (4:39.73) freestyle and McKim finished first in the 200 IM (2:29.59) and 100 breaststroke (1:13.60).

The night's most exciting event was the 400 freestyle. Tillison and Tian Siggins of Iowa Lakes were neck and neck for most of the race, but Siggins took a slight lead during the second-to-last length. Tillison fired out of the turn and passed Siggins in the final 10 meters for the dramatic win.

McKim had a battle on his hands in the 200 IM. The freshman led for a majority of the race but lost ground in the freestyle stroke. He was able to hold off the charging Brigham to win by less than a second.

Women's Recap

Christina Amburgy accounted for two of Simpson's five wins as the women won their first dual of the season, improving to 1-3.

Amburgy ran away from the competition in the 100 and 200 freestyle, finishing the 100 in 1:04.09 and besting the field by more than 12 seconds in the 200 with a 2:23.13.

Megan Lein and Marissa Stepleton earned the Storm's other individual victories. Lein won the 200 IM in 2:52.21 and Stepleton won the 400 freestyle in 5:21.48.

Stepleton beat teammate Hannah Yarbrough in dramatic fashion in the 400 freestyle. Yarbrough – who had never lost in the event in her home pool – led the whole way before Stepleton passed her in the final length.

Simpson's other win came in the 400 freestyle relay, where the team of Yarbrough, Stepleton, Lein and Amburgy touched the wall in 4:46.71.

Simpson's concentration now falls on the Liberal Arts Championships, which close the season on Feb. 14-16 in Cedar Rapids.