Lallier, Sesker help Storm post best round of IIAC Championship

Junior Korbin Sesker
Junior Korbin Sesker

INDIANOLA, Iowa — The Simpson men's golf team posted the lowest score of the day, taking advantage of playing on its home course to move into third place at the Iowa Conference Championship on Friday.

Andrew Lallier fired a 3-over 74, Korbin Sesker carded a 4-over 75 and the Storm shot 304 as a team, the best round of the day by six strokes. Simpson shaved 32 strokes from the first round, moving from sixth to third with one round to play at Indianola Country Club.

Luther continues to lead the field after shooting 318 Friday to sit at 627 overall. Nebraska Wesleyan is second in 630 and Simpson is third at 640. Central is five strokes back in fourth and Loras is fifth at 651.

Lallier turned in the third-lowest round of the day and is now tied for 10th in the standings. Only overall leader Matt Unrue of Nebraska Wesleyan (72) and Tanner Randall of Wartburg (73) shot better than the freshman. 

Sesker is a stroke ahead of Lallier in the standings and is tied for 8th with Coe's Hunter Livermore. 

Nick Hartman and Blake Bender played a big part in the Storm's ascent up the leaderboard. Hartman -- who owned Simpson's best stroke average going into the weekend -- shot a 76 and Bender carded a 79. Simpson's leader after the first round, Reid Cobb, shot 81 but is still in the thick of an all-conference bid in a tie for 12th place.

Up next
The final round of the IIAC Championship is Saturday at Indianola Country Club. Tee times begin at 10 a.m. but Simpson players won't begin until 11:30. Simpson, Luther and Nebraska Wesleyan players will golf together in the final flight.

Storm Scorecard
Korbin Sesker, 84-75—159 | t-8th
Andrew Lallier, 86-74—160 | t-10th
Reid Cobb, 80-81—161 | t-12th
Nick Hartman, 87-76—163 | 19th
Blake Bender, 86-79—165 | t-21st

Team Standings
1. Luther, 309-318—627
2. Nebraska Wesleyan, 320-310—630
3. Simpson, 336-304—640
4. Central, 330-315—645
5. Loras, 330-321—651
6. Coe, 337-320—657
7. Wartburg, 335-332—667
8. Dubuque, 347-347—694
9. Buena Vista, 386-353—739