Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

The Official Home of the Simpson College Storm

Amsbaugh named First Team All-IIAC, Turner honorable mention

Junior Sam Amsbaugh
Junior Sam Amsbaugh

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa — For the second year in a row Simpson men's basketball player Sam Amsbaugh earned a spot on the All-Iowa Conference First Team while Austin Turner landed honorable mention honors, the league office announced late last week.

A junior forward from Sheffield, Iowa, Amsbaugh led the Storm in scoring for the second year in a row, averaging 18.5 points per game. He pulled down 6.8 rebounds per game and shot 53 percent from the field. He earned IIAC Player of the Week honors twice and was named USBWA National Player of the Week on Dec. 4 after averaging 33 points and nine rebounds in three games. 

Amsbaugh reached double figures in all but two games and closed the season with 995 career points. He finished the season with 480 total points and goes into his senior year looking to become the 20th member of Simpson's 1,000 point club.

A senior point guard from San Antonio, Texas, Turner finished second on the team in scoring, averaging 10.3 points per game. His 76 assists were a team-high, as he closed his career seventh in school history with 247. Turner finished the season strong, averaging 13.8 points over the final 10 games, including a career-high 28 against Dubuque and a double-double against Central. He earned IIAC Player of the Week honors for the period ending Sunday, Feb. 12.

2016-17 All-Iowa Conference Men's Basketball Team
Most Valuable Player — Cooper Cook, So., Nebraska Wesleyan
Defensive Player of the Year — David Jeffries, Jr., Buena Vista
Coach of the Year — Dale Wellman, Nebraska Wesleyan

First Team
Kennedy Drey — Sr., F, Buena Vista
Colby Taylor — Sr., F, Central
Jake Weber — Sr., F, Dubuque
Ryan DiCanio — So., G, Loras
Nate Schimonitz — Fr., G, Nebraska Wesleyan
Sam Amsbaugh — Jr., F, Simpson
Jordan Cannon — Sr., F, Wartburg

Second Team
Thomas Wisecup — Jr., G, Buena Vista
Kyle Smith — Jr., F, Central
Marshall Shedeck — Sr., F, Coe
Jamaree Atwater — Jr., F, Dubuque
Justin VanWambeke — Sr., G, Loras
Deion Wells-Ross — Jr., F, Nebraska Wesleyan
Nick Webber — Sr., F, Wartburg

Honorable Mention
David Jeffries — Jr., G, Buena Vista
Pete Walker — Sr., G, Central
Demond George — So., G, Loras
Austin Turner — Sr., G, Simpson
Jaran Sabus — So., G, Wartburg
Nate Woeste — Jr., F, Wartburg