Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

The Official Home of the Simpson College Storm

Amsbaugh, Gretzky named all-conference

Amsbaugh, Gretzky named all-conference

INDIANOLA, Iowa - First team pick Sam Amsbaugh and second team selection Dillon Gretzky represented Simpson on the All-Iowa Conference Men's Basketball Team for the 2015-16 season, as voted on by the league's coaches.

The only sophomore selected to the first team, Amsbaugh becomes Simpson's youngest first team all-conference performer since Tim Dunlay in 2007-08. The 6-5 forward from Sheffield, Iowa, led the team in scoring and rebounding, ranking in the top 10 in the IIAC in both categories. He averaged 15 points and 6.1 rebounds while leading the team in shooting percentage (49), steals (33) and blocked shots (17). He scored at least 20 points eight times, including a career-high 30-point performance in a win at Central on Jan. 27. 

The heart and soul of the team, Gretzky enjoyed a career season as a senior, averaging 14.2 points and 5.3 rebounds per game. The 6-2 Grinnell, Iowa product was a model of consistency, reaching double figures in all but four games on the season. Gretzky scored a season-high 26 points on 10-for-16 shooting in a win at Central on Jan. 27.

The Storm and first-year head coach Brad Bjorkgren enjoyed a nine-game turnaround in 2015-16, going 15-11 after the program managed just 10 wins the previous two seasons combined. Simpson went 8-6 in conference play and earned the No. 3 seed in the IIAC Tournament before falling in the first round to Buena Vista. Simpson returns 4 of 5 starters in 2016-17.


2015-16 All-Iowa Conference Men's Basketball Team

MVP - Andre Norris, Sr., Dubuque
Defensive POY - Andrew Norris, Sr., Dubuque
Coach of the Year - Robbie Sieverding, Dubuque

First Team - Nick Clark, sr., Buena Vista; Colby Taylor, jr., Central; Matt Vonderhaar, jr., Coe; Mirko Grcic, sr., Loras; Justin VanWambeke, jr., Loras; Sam Amsbaugh, so., Simpson; Jordan Cannon, jr., Wartburg

Second Team - Kennedy Drey, jr. Buena Vista; Pete Walker, jr., Central; Marshall Shedeck, jr., Coe; Kain Arthofer, jr., Dubuque; Jake Weber, jr., Dubuque; Nathan Meyer, sr., Luther; Dillon Gretzky, sr., Simpson; Nick Webber, jr., Wartburg

Honorable Mention - Jake Timm, sr., Coe; Nate Woeste, so., Wartburg