Meyer, Abernathy headline football all-IIAC selections

Meyer, Abernathy headline football all-IIAC selections

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa – Center Corey Meyer and linebacker Brandon Abernathy earned first team all-conference honors, highlighting Simpson's selections to the 2014 All-Iowa Conference Football Team.

In addition to Meyer and Abernathy, six other players took home league honors. Left tackle Blake Bergstrom, defensive tackle Alex Severn and return specialist Jordan Beem were named to the All-IIAC Second Team. Beem also earned honors as a running back, joining punter Logan Klein, defensive lineman Ryan Wagers and placekicker Drew Jensen as honorable mention selections.

2014 All-Iowa Conference Football Team

Meyer and Abernathy named to All-IIAC First Team

A junior from Iowa City, Iowa, Meyer started all 10 games for the Storm at center, anchoring the offensive line. Meyer brings home the second all-conference accolade of his career, adding to his second-team honor a year ago.

A senior from Indianola, Iowa, Abernathy led the team and tied for seventh in the conference with 89 tackles in 2014. A staple in the Storm's defensive scheme for the past three seasons, Abernathy led the team with 8.5 tackles for loss. He forced a fumble and, in the final game of his career, returned a fumble 26 yards for a touchdown in the season finale against Luther.

Bergstrom, Severn, Beem earn second team honors

A junior from Ankeny, Iowa, Bergstrom started all 10 games for the Storm at left tackle. The 6-5, 255-pounder is a two-year starter and was a Capital One First Team Academic All-District 8 pick this season.

A senior from Council Bluffs, Iowa, Severn led the defensive line with 49 tackles, making 4.5 tackles for loss and one sack. The two-year starter was a two-time Capital One First Team Academic All-District 8 honoree.

A sophomore from Altoona, Iowa, Beem was the team's leading rusher, top returner and ranked fifth in the Iowa Conference in all-purpose yards. In the return game, Beem averaged 16.4 yards on 17 kick returns and 8.9 yards on eight punt returns. He rushed for 516 yards on the ground, averaging 4.2 yards per carry and scoring three TDs. He rushed for a season-high 105 yards against Wartburg on Nov. 8.

Klein, Wagers and Jensen also recognized

A senior from Sigourney, Iowa, Klein used his big leg to help Simpson in the field position game all season. His 36.1 yards per punt ranked third in the league, pinning opponents inside the 20 nine times and booting three punts 50 or more yards.

A senior from Redfield, Iowa, Wagers made the most of his first season as a starter on the defensive line. The 5-11, 240-pound tackle made 40 tackles, 5.5 tackles for loss and 1.5 sacks. He also batted away four passes, the most of any player outside of the defensive backfield.

A freshman from Indianola, Iowa, Jensen was perfect during his rookie campaign. He made all five field goal attempts and was a perfect 19-for-19 on extra point tries. He made a season-long 30-yarder in the win over Illinois Wesleyan and made all five extra point attempts against Luther.

Season in Review

Simpson and seventh-year head coach Jim Glowgoski closed the 2014 season 3-7, going 0-7 in the IIAC. The season started out well as the Storm went undefeated in the non-conference schedule, receiving votes in both the and AFCA polls. Simpson couldn't come up with a win in conference play, dropping three games by a touchdown or less.

IIAC Football Awards

Conference champion Wartburg swept the conference's major awards. Quarterback Logan Schrader earned Offensive MVP honors, Spencer Capitani was named Defensive MVP and Rick Willis took home Coach of the Year honors.