Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

The Official Home of the Simpson College Storm

Five football players named to Hampshire Honor Society

Five football players named to Hampshire Honor Society

INDIANOLA, Iowa – Simpson senior football players Tyler Craig, Mark Cronin, Alex McCarty, August Severn and Taylor Stockdale became members of the 2013 National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame (NFF) Hampshire Honor Society, as announced earlier this month.

2013 NFF Hampshire Honor Society

The society is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college career.

"The growing number of schools involved in the Hampshire Honor Society each year shows that football student-athletes not only play at the highest level but that they are some of the best students on campus as well," said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. "Congratulations to each of these young men for their commitment to education and their leadership on and off the football field."

A total of 703 players from 259 schools qualified for membership in the society's seventh year, marking the highest school participation in the history of the program, which began in 2007.

A senior safety from Mount Vernon, Iowa, Craig (top left) majored in integrated marketing communications. He finished the season second on the team with 52 tackles, making three tackles for loss. Craig earned a spot on the Dean's List at Simpson twice.

A senior linebacker from Holstein, Iowa, Cronin (top right) double majored in accounting and economics. He earned Capital One Academic All-America® Second Team honors in 2012, was a two-time Academic All-District Selection and appeared on the Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (IIAC) All-Academic Team three times. Cronin made a team-high 66 tackles with two sacks in 2012, on the way to First Team All-Iowa Conference honors. He earned second team all-conference honors in 2011. In the classroom, Cronin was named to the President's List three times and the Dean's List twice during his career.

A senior tight end from Prescott, Iowa, McCarty (bottom left) double majored in sports administration and integrated marketing communications. The three-time IIAC All-Academic honoree landed on the Dean's List and the President's List one time each during his career. McCarty served as a team captain in 2011 and 2012 and made 16 catches for 113 yards and three touchdowns as a senior. At Simpson's annual awards banquet, he earned the Dick Starr Award as the Outstanding Senior in the Sports Administration and Physical Education Department.

A senior tight end from Council Bluffs, Iowa, Severn (bottom middle) majored in mathematics. The three-year letterwinner appeared in nine games in 2012, making two catches for 20 yards.

A senior defensive tackle from Eagle Grove, Iowa, Stockdale (bottom right) double majored in mathematics and physics. The three-year letterwinner earned a place on the Dean's List and was a three-time IIAC All-Academic team member. Stockdale appeared in eight games in 2012, making 15 tackles, four tackles for loss and two sacks.

Storm stunned by Coe
October 20, 2012 Storm stunned by Coe
Storm done in by turnovers
September 8, 2012 Storm done in by turnovers
Football sets Junior Visit Day
February 16, 2012 Football sets Junior Visit Day