Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

The Official Home of the Simpson College Storm

SAAC holds recognition banquet

SAAC holds recognition banquet

Photo Gallery

INDIANOLA, Iowa – Simpson’s Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) held its annual Student-Athlete Recognition Awards Banquet on Monday night, celebrating a year's worth of success on and off the field of competition.

The event recognized all of Simpson’s student-athletes, conference and national award winners from the past season and also gave out five SAAC Awards.

“[Tonight’s event] was a way to recognize the student-athletes and pay tribute to them,” SAAC President Braden Everding said.

The 2012 SAAC Award Winners:
Game of the Year: Football’s 38-37 overtime upset of Wartburg
Team of the Year: Women’s Basketball
Coach of the Year: Brian Niemuth
Female Athlete of the Year: Chelsea Winegard
Male Athlete of the Year: Zack Barragan

The evening started with a video montage including highlights and interviews from each sport.

After the award winners were announced, keynote speaker Joe Blake addressed the crowd. A Simpson alum and longtime pitching coach for the baseball team, Blake addressed the mental side of athletics and reminded the crowd that “inside every one of you is a champion.”

“He did a phenomenal job and was very entertaining,” Everding said.

Simpson coaches and administrators were also in attendance at the event, which took place inside Cowles Fieldhouse.

Baseball game suspended
April 29, 2012 Baseball game suspended