Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

The Official Home of the Simpson College Storm

Simpson places 39 on IIAC All-Academic Team

Simpson places 39 on IIAC All-Academic Team

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa — Thirty-nine student-athletes competing in spring sports earned a spot on the 2017-18 Iowa Conference All-Academic Team.

To be eligible for Iowa Conference All-Academic Team honors a student-athlete must compete at the varsity level, be at least a sophomore in academic standing with at least one year in residence and attain a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher (on a 4.0 scale).

The 39 student-athletes who earned a spot on the team averaged a stellar 3.76 cumulative GPA.

The track and field teams led the way with 20 combined selections, including 10 on the women's team and 10 on the men's team. The softball team had nine selections, the most in the Iowa Conference. Five baseball players made the cut, four men's tennis players and one men's golfer rounded out Simpson's picks.

Women's Track & Field (10)
Elizabeth Burgus Sr. Elkhart, Iowa Sociology, Criminal Justice
Katie Clarke Sr. Casey, Iowa Elementary Education, Liberal Arts
Jackie Cullinan Sr. Altoona, Iowa Forensics, Biochemistry
Shelby Hunemiller Jr. Dexter, Iowa Athletic Training, Exercise Science
Audrey Klein So. Des Moines, Iowa Mathematics, Health Services Leadership
Ashlee Litterer So. Waverly, Iowa Exercise Science
Audrey LoVan Sr. Sioux City, Iowa Computer Science, Mathematics
Jaycie Owens Jr. Norwalk, Iowa Economics: Finance
Kaylee Willadsen Jr. Council Bluffs, Iowa Music Education
Mary Wood Jr. Lincoln, Neb. Political Science, English
Men's Track & Field (10)
Sam Adeniyi So. Roseville, Minn. Computer Science
Chad Carter Jr. Carlisle, Iowa Actuarial Science, Computer Science
Josh Dietrich So. Pleasant Hill, Iowa Computer Science, Computer Information Systems
Austin Greenwalt So. New Prague, Minn. Management
Kyle Hovey Sr. Adel, Iowa Computer Information Systems, History
Levi Lefebure So. Fairfax, Iowa Political Science, Mathematics
Drew Roen Jr. Dubuque, Iowa Mathematics, Computer Science
Caleb Striegel So. Nashua, Iowa Management, Sports Administration
Trey Thompson Jr. Ogden, Iowa Mathematics
Connor Warrick So. Prairie City, Iowa Exercise Science
Softball (9)
Ashley Allen Jr. Laurel, Iowa Sports Administration
Brooke Brommel Sr. New Virginia, Iowa Management Information Systems
Sunny Carolus So. Johnston, Iowa Undeclared
Hattie Liechty Jr. Mount Pleasant, Iowa Physical Education
Alyssa Mathews So. Grundy Center, Iowa Mathematics
Madison Rasmusson Jr. Marshalltown, Iowa Management
Kayla Reusche Jr. Waverly, Iowa Psychology
Kaleigh Snyder Sr. Grayslake, Ill. Physical Education
Annie Stolte Sr. Huxley, Iowa Sports Administration
Baseball (5)
Nathan Carlin Jr. Huxley, Iowa Mathematics
Trey Kehoe Sr. Fort Dodge, Iowa Criminal Justice (Masters)
J Lowery Sr. Bettendorf, Iowa Athletic Training
Truman Schmitt So. Hinton, Iowa Actuarial Science, Economics: Finance
Devon Veach Jr. Des Moines, Iowa Actuarial Science, Economics: Finance
Men's Tennis (4)
Brett Dewerff So. Storm Lake, Iowa Actuarial Science, Computer Science
Karson Richardson So. East Peoria, Ill. Mathematics, Computer Science
Matt Turnley So. Manhattan, Kan. Environmental Science
Adam Wieser Sr. Atlantic, Iowa Biology
Men's Golf (1)
Blake Bender Jr. Spencer, Iowa Biology